x-ray center
> Zum Inhalt

Program/Abstract Booklet


Abstract Booklet

Keynote Speakers:

  • Dr. Alfonso Franciosi (ELETTRA)
  • Dr. Dimitri Argyriou (ESS)
  • Dr. Harald Reichert (ESRF)
  • Dr. Helmut Schober (ILL)
  • Dr. Thomas Tschentscher (European XFEL)



  • Hartmut Abele (TU Wien)
  • Heinz Amenitsch (TU Graz, Elettra)
  • Gerald Badurek (TU Wien)
  • Klaudia Hradil (TU Wien)
  • Volker Kahlenberg (Universität Innsbruck)
  • Jozef Keckes (Montanuniversität Leoben)
  • Georg Koller (Universität Graz)
  • Christian Köberl (Universität Wien, NHM Wien)
  • Christoph Kratky (Universität Graz)
  • Gerhard Krexner (Universität Wien)
  • Oskar Paris (Montanuniversität Leoben)
  • Helmut Rauch (TU Wien)
  • Günther Redhammer (Universität Salzburg)
  • Julian Stangl (Universität Linz)
  • Christina Streli (TU Wien)


  • Dr. Daniel Weselka (BM.W_F)
  • Prof. Dr. Günther Bauer (ÖAW, JKU Linz)
  • Prof. Dr. Hartmut Abele (ENSA, TU Wien)
  • Prof. Dr. Julian Stangl (ESUO, JKU Linz)
  • Prof. Dr. Oskar Paris (NESY, Montanuniversität Leoben)

Symposium on "Research at European Neutron and Synchrotron facilities by Austrian researchers"

Hosted by the Vienna University of Technology, i.e. the vice rector for research Prof. Dr. Johannes Fröhlich, the symposium took place at the Vienna University of Technology in November 11th and 12th 2013. It was organised by the committee "Forschung mit Neutronen und Synchrotronstrahlung (NESY)" within the Austrian Physical Society (OEPG).


Vice Rector for Research: Prof. Dr. Johannes Fröhlich (Technische Universität Wien)


Aim of the Symposium

The Symposium aimed at bringing together Austrian users of synchrotron- and neutron radiation from all research areas to discuss recent scientific achievements as well as future needs. Furthermore, the symposium should strenghten the European network and show up future developments.

Alltogether 150 participants were registered for the meeting. Besides the Austrian User community of the large neutron and synchrotron facilities we were pleased  to welcome key scientists from  the European large scale facilities (Elletra, ESRF, ILL), the upcoming sources (ESS, European XFEL) and European Universities working on the design of new and challanging experminental set-up at these facilities. 

We were delighted that the current scientific directors of the European synchrotron facilities Elletra (Alfonso Franciosi, Triest, Italy) und ESRF (Harald Reichert, Grenoble, France) and the neutron source ILL (Helmut Schober, Grenoble, France) agreed to talk about the intriguing new developments. Furthermore, the current scientific directors form the upcoming European spallation source, Dimitri Argyriou (ESS, Lund, Sweden,) and  the European free electron laser, Thomas Tschentscher (European XFEL, Hamburg, Germany) introduced the challanging new experimental possibilities.

The scientific program showed up the manifold research area of the Austrian community. We recived 80 abstracts from which 22 could be presented as oral contributions and 58 poster contributions.

Besides the scientific program the vice rector for research of the TU Wien Johannes Fröhlich moderated a panel discussion with the subject “Future use of large facilities by Austrian users”.

The panal was composed by: